Geek Out: Can’t See Can’t Hear But Love (Manhwa)

This Manhwa will send you on an emotional roller coaster up to the very last page. It made me laugh and smile yet also made me bawl my eyes out more than anything I have ever read up till now. Yet I am left feeling refreshed by the end of the story.

The plot is basically as follows:

A Manhwaga (the Korean version of a Mangaka), who is the author of a popular online manhwa, loses his sight and becomes blind. Despairing over the loss of his ability to draw and being unable to care for his mother who has dementia, the Manhwaga stops taking care of himself and begins to lose hope. He is then saved by a deaf woman who is a fan of his manhwa. The story follows their life together. Showcasing both happy and lighthearted moments as well as sad and difficult senarios.

The art is pretty good and the Manhwaga uses colour and space well to express and show things to the reader.

The characters are all deep. Even the dog and cat have backstories for goodness sake! Really good ones! You slowly learn about the pasts of all the characters and they seem to get deeper as you read through the story.

I do feel I should warn any potential readers that this manhwa does deal with some serious issues such as suicide and various physical and mental illnesses. I would not recommend this for children or those who are uncomfortable with the topics that are brought up in the story.

However, I do believe that this is an amazing story well worth the time to read.images

Leave a comment